PEACEHAVEN & DISTRICT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

CHAPTER OF COMME

www.peacehavenchamber.co.uk email: secretary@peacehavenchamber.co.uk

MINUTES of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Held on Tuesday 22 March 2011 at

Telscombe Civic Centre at 7.30pm

In Attendance: 17 Members

Apologies received from:

Peter Crowley/Neil Cameron Wave Leisure

Claire Duc Newhaven Enterprise Centre

Trish & Andy Bullivant Long John's Grill

1. Welcome and Chairman's Report

Gary Maskell paid tribute to the hard work and commitment of his committee. Although it was acknowledged that times were difficult, businesses who remained positive would always have the edge.

2. Minutes of the AGM held on 23 March 2010

These were agreed as a true record.

3. Treasurer's Report

Phil Howson presented the accounts to the meeting and highlighted areas of expenditure. There was an excess of income over expenditure and no questions from members.

4. Election Results and Committee

Gary Maskell announced that by rotation, the following members of the Committee were due to stand for election:

Christian Fleming

Rachel Brown

Mark Derrick

who were duly re-elected en bloc. The remaining members of the Committee:

Gary Maskell currently Chairman
Phil Howson currently Treasurer
Phil Merry currently Publicity & PR

would continue and individual roles would be decided in Committee.

In addition, two new members were welcomed onto the Committee:

Chris Chandler Helen Macauley

5. Business Awards

The Mayor of Telscombe, Cllr Ron Maskell presented the prizes.

The main prize in each category was an inscribed glass monument, the design based on the famous Meridian Line monument.

Phil Merry hosted the awards and explained how the voting process worked. There were three award categories; Business Person of the Year, Business of the Year and the Chairman's Prize.

PEACEHAVEN & DISTRICT CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

CHANGER OF COMMISSION OF COMMI

www.peacehavenchamber.co.uk email: secretary@peacehavenchamber.co.uk

Nominees for Business Person of the Year (in no particular order)

Helen Macauley, Chris Ogden, Chris Bray, Gary Maskell, Mark Derrick, Chris Chandler, Melanie Wilson, Simon Studd, John Lawrence, Tony Bingham, Rachel Brown, Christian Fleming, Claire Duc, Cheryl Poulter and Susanna Shakerley.

Business Person of the Year was: Mark Derrick Awards of Merit went to Helen Macauley and Chris Chandler

Nominees for Business of the Year (in no particular order)

Aztech Systems, Haven Security, Sussex Will Writing, Focus Media, Northstar IT, Helen Macauley Bookkeeper, Icon Business Solutions, Taylor Wilson. Secretary Outsource, Leads Direct, Tennyson Suite, Dane Europe, Newhaven Enterprise Centre, Barwells Solicitors, Excell Design, Jarlands, Howson & Son, J Wagstaff Ltd, PC Help, Studio Crafts and Wave Leisure.

Business of the Year: **Jarlands**Awards of Merit went to **Sussex Will Writing Co** and **Leads Direct**

The winner of the Chairman's Prize was awarded to: Chris Bray – Leads Direct

6. The Year Ahead

Gary Maskell outlined the Committee's plans for the Chamber in the year ahead.. He confirmed there would be no Showcase this year, but instead an exciting new concept called a 'Business Market' to include a 'networking orgy'. This would be more cost-effective than a trade show with a focus on networking..

Addtionally, the Breakfast Club was continuing to go from strength to strength with further visits to the sewage works, football stadium and the Newhaven incinerator.already in the pipeline. The Golf Club would be hosting a putting competition for the Breakfast Club. For those unable to attend breakfast, the Curry Club had been re-launched to facilitate evening networking. One of the main features for members of Peacehaven Chamber attending networking events was the fact that they always stayed around after the end of the meeting and continued to do business.

So the Committee had decided to concentrate its efforts on what worked best and effectively do less in terms of events, but do what we are doing even better.

The meeting closed at 8.10pm.